June 23, 2024

RENO Washoe County Board of Commissioners members Mike Clark and Jeanne Herman refused to vote to certify Nevada’s June 11 election results. In response, Dr. Jennifer Willett, All Voting is Local Action Nevada Senior Campaign Manager, issued the following statement:

“Washoe County Board of Commissioners members are obligated by law to cast their vote to certify the election results and accept the will of voters. Commissioners Clark and Herman’s refusal to vote to complete the certification process is an attempt to sabotage Nevada elections despite the election’s being narrowly certified by Commissioners Mariluz Garcia, Alexis Hill, and Clara Andriola. Their unwillingness to vote is an effort to cast doubt on the results and sow distrust in our election, which is unacceptable.

“Our elections are free and fair. Nevada election officials are responsible for fulfilling their obligation to Nevada voters and by law must accept the election results. In this case, they should have adhered to the current laws and policies in place and voted to certify the election.”

Background: Commissioner Clark and Herman’s refusal to certify the election is a pattern of practice. Commissioner Clark has refused to certify two elections, and Commissioner Herman has refused to certify four elections, including the 2024 June primary, the 2024 presidential preference primary, 2022 general election, the 2022 primary, and the 2020 general election.